News Update

#MTN FA CUP AWARDS: Winful Cobbinah wins MVP

Accra Hearts of Oak midfielder Winful Cobbinah was crowned the most valuable player of the 2017 MTN FA Cup.

The seventh edition of the MTN FA Cup Awards was held at the M Plaza Hotel in Accra on Thursday night.

Former Asante Kotoko coach, Steve Pollack was adjudged the best coach of the year whiles Accra Hearts of Oak fans adjudged the Supporters Group of the Year and Medeama SC centre-back Ibrahim Yaro was named the best defender of the competition.

Below is the full list of the winners.


Best Player of the Year – Winful Cobbinah (Hearts of Oak)


Best Defender of the Year – Ibrahim Yaro (Medeama)


Top Scorers of the season – Sadick Adams (Asante Kotoko) and Raphael Ocoloo (Okyeman Planners)


Fair Play Team of the Year – Medeama

Supporters Group of the Year – Hearts of Oak fans

Coach of the Year – Steve Pollack

Referee of the Year – Awal Mohammed

Assistant Referee of the season – Kennedy Sarpong Adade

Match Commissioner of the Year – Alhaji Abdul Ganiu Lawal

The goal of the Year – Isaac Amoah (Amidaus Professionals)

Most Promising Referee – Isaac Akoto

Most Promising Player of the Year- David Abagna (Wa All Stars)

Special Awards:

Baba Mallam Nuhu, Ebenezer Asante Twum, Nii Amo Kudjoe, Ashanti, Western Regional Association and the Management of MPlaza Hotel.

(For more sports news and updates, follow on Twitter at @Herosportsgh and on Facebook at Herosportsgh.) 

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


%d bloggers like this: