News Update

2018 Africa Women’s Cup of Nations line up complete

Nigeria’s Super Falcons line up that crushed The Gambia 6-0 at the Township temple, Agege stadium in Lagos on Monday. Photo Credit: Modo Victor

Eight nations to compete in the 2018 Africa Women’s Cup of Nations (AWCON) in Ghana are now known as defending African champions, Nigeria returns to hunt for their 9th continental title.

It’s been a thrilling contest on the continent over the last two months and the Super Falcons, who crushed Gambia in the final round qualifier 7-0 on aggregate, will play alongside South Africa, Cameroon, Equatorial Guinea, Zambia, Algeria and Mali at this year’s finals along with the hosts, Ghana.

Nigeria’s Super Falcons hammered the Queen Scorpions of The Gambia 7-0 on aggregate in over two legs while 2016 finalists Cameroon, also sealed their place after they romped DR Congo 10-0 on aggregate.

Two-time winners Equatorial Guinea qualified with more hard work having overturned a 2-1 first leg deficit to defeat Kenya with two goals without reply at home to progress 3-2 on aggregate.

South Africa overwhelmed Lesotho 6-0 in Bloemfontein to book their place with a 7-0 aggregate win.

Mali and Zambia got the edge over Ivory Coast and Zimbabwe respectively on the away goal rule after a 2-2 draw over two legs.

Algeria will be the only North African rep at the finals this year after beating Ethiopia 3-2 on aggregate.

The 2018 Africa Women’s Cup of Nations is scheduled for November 17 to December 1 with Accra and Cape Coast as host cities.

    Final Round Results and qualified teams:

  • Cameroon 5-0 Congo Brazzaville (Cameroon go through 10-0 on aggregate)
  • Equatorial Guinea 2-0 Kenya (Equatorial Guinea go through 3-2 on aggregate)
  • Zimbabwe 1-2 Zambia (Tie ends 2-2 on aggregate. Zambia go through on away goals)
  • Ethiopia 2-3 Algeria (Algeria go through 6-3 on aggregate)
  • South Africa 6-0 Lesotho (South Africa go through 7-0 on aggregate)
  • Mali 0-0 Ivory Coast (Tie ends 2-2 on aggregate. Mali go through on away goals)
  • Nigeria 6-0 The Gambia (Nigeria go through 7-0 on aggregate)

Qualified teams

The following eight teams qualify for the final tournament.

Team Appearance Previous best performance

Algeria            5th                     Sixth place (2004)

Cameroon      13th                   Runners-up (1991, 2004, 2014, 2016)

Equatorial Guinea    5th           Champions (2008, 2012)

Ghana (hosts)           12th        Runners-up (1998, 2002, 2006)

Mali    7th                                Fifth place (2006, 2016)

Nigeria 13th                            Champions (1991, 1995, 1998, 2000, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2010, 2014, 2016)

South Africa 12th                     Runners-up (1995, 2000, 2008, 2012)

Zambia          3rd                      Quarterfinals (1995)

The tournament also doubles as Africa’s qualifiers for the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2019 in France. Three top African teams emerging from the 2018 event will qualify as Africa’s representatives in the showpiece event.

By John Mendy ( For more sports news and updates, follow on Twitter
at @Herosportsgh and on Facebook at Herosportsgh. )      

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


%d bloggers like this: