News Update

2020 women’s u-17 u-20 world cups bids open

As France and Uruguay gear up to host this year’s FIFA U-20 and U-17 Women’s World Cups, respectively, FIFA has today launched the bidding process for the 2020 editions of both competitions.

The FIFA U-20 women World Cup will kick start in France from 5th-24th of August while the U-17 women’s World Cup is slated for 13 November 2018 -1st of December 2018.

According to a statement of FIFA’s official page, “FIFA’s member association’s countries will have until 24 August 2018 to declare their interest in hosting the FIFA U-20 and U-17 Women’s World Cup 2020 by submitting the completed and duly executed declaration form to FIFA”, the statement reads.

“FIFA will send by 31 August 2018 the bidding and host documents to those member associations that have declared an interest, with member associations having until 28 September 2018 to re-confirm their interest by submitting the signed terms and conditions.

“18 January 2019 will be the deadline for the respective member associations to submit their definitive bids, including all signed bidding and hosting documents (hosting agreement, host city agreements, government guarantees, etc.).

The hosts of both the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup 2020 and the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup 2020 are expected to be appointed by the FIFA Council in the first quarter of 2019 (a different host will be appointed for each competition).

“Since its launch in 2002, the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup has become a springboard for some of the most talented players in the women’s game, as confirmed by the list of Adidas Golden Ball winners: Christine Sinclair (2002), Marta (2004), Ma Xiaoxu (2006), Sydney Leroux (2008), Alexandra Popp (2010), Dzsenifer Marozsan (2012), Asisat Oshoala (2014) and Hina Sugita (2016).

“The FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup has been played since 2008 and the list of Adidas Golden Ball winners also features some of the finest players of recent years, such as Mana Ibawuchi (2008), Yeo Min-ji (2010), Griedge Mbock Bathy (2012), Hina Sugita (2014) and Fuka Nagano (2016).

FIFA’s Chief Women’s Football Officer, Sarai Bareman said, “The fact that the previous editions of the FIFA U-20 and U-17 Women’s World Cups have featured such talented players is not a mere coincidence,”

“Both competitions play a key role as part of FIFA’s objective to promote women’s football around the world and to give young talent a world-class setting to play against the best in their age group. For the host country, it’s also a unique opportunity to further develop women’s football at different levels thanks to the tournament legacy, starting from infrastructure, grassroots, and media awareness.”

( For more sports news and updates, follow on Twitter at @Herosportsgh and on Facebook at Herosportsgh. ) 

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


%d bloggers like this: